I Want to Go Home!

It’s been exactly 19 months to the day since we sent off our papers to get into Canada. It’s been more than two years since I’ve been dying to repatriate myself and become a contributing citizen of Canada. BUT I CAN’T! The bloody immigration system won’t let me go home with my

A forest outside Penetanguishene, Ontario

A forest outside Penetanguishene, Ontario

husband! I’m so tired of waiting. I’m so tired of this hot dreary country. I’m so tired of the traffic, the crazy drivers, the smells of garbage and sewage, the shop keepers that look blankly at me and say ‘no speak henglish’. I’ve had my time here in Kuwait, loved it some of the time, enjoyed meeting people of all cultures and walks of life. BUT THE THRILL IS GONE!

Penetanguishene, Ontario.

Penetanguishene, Ontario.

But I want to go home! I want to take my wonderful husband to Canada and have him finally meet my family for real, I want to show him my lovely country, have him learn English properly, have him learn about what it’s like to be a Canadian, I want to start a new life in my beautiful country with him!

I LOVE MY COUNTRY! SO WHY IS THIS GODDAMN IMMIGRATION SYSTEM KEEPING US OUT! I’M A CANADIAN CITIZEN, BORN AND BRED AND I CAN’T GO HOME BECAUSE OF THEM! I dream of water and green forests and fields. I don’t sleep some nights just longing to be home. LOOK AT THESE PHOTOS! WHO WOULDN’T WANT THAT?

They contacted my husband for a medical exam. I sent it along with this plea:

‘I would like to state at this point that I intensely miss my country and wish to return as quickly as possible. I have remained here only because I love my husband and don’t want to leave him behind. Please, from my heart, I beg you to process these documents as quickly as possible so I can go home to my country and to my family. My father is 85 and in failing health and I would like to spend some time with him before he passes. My mother is well, however has experienced ill health and I miss her and wish to go home.’

They did not respond.

Later, I sent this impassioned email:

‘Please, we need to get out of this country soon. We are going ahead with plans for relocating to Canada, selling our personal effects that we don’t wish to bring with us to Canada. I need to go home desperately, I am so sick of this country and I want to see my family. I checked the Immigration Canada website for the status of my husband’s application and it still only says ‘Received’. Are you processing his papers yet? If you want us to come to Amman for an interview, we are ready and eager to come at any time. Even though I am so passionately tired of this country, I will not go back to Canada without my husband, I think he would die if I did. Perhaps you will look at the difference in our ages or our educational background. The fact is, we are very much alike in so many ways, that this relationship works! I had a motorcycle accident in January and broke my right shoulder and left elbow. While completely disabled and in great pain, my husband slept on the floor beside my bed and roused to help me every time I moaned in pain or stirred. He bathed me, washed my hair, took care of my toileting needs. He did everything for me. He had a motorcycle accident in March and scraped all the skin off both arms and other parts of his anatomy. I changed his bandages and helped him in every way I could. We are similar in our likes and dislikes, we have the same dreams for our future that we intend to realize with all our energy once we get to Canada. Please help us realize these dreams and expedite our papers.’

They did not respond.

What’s wrong with those f***ing bureaucrats? Don’t they have a heart? Are we all just numbers to them? What do I have to do to make this go faster? Go to Ottawa and camp outside the Parliament with a billboard saying something virulent? Go to Amman where his papers are sitting on some coffee-drinking, flirting, SLEEPING bureaucrat’s desk and commit a violent act? Make a YouTube video pleading for the Canadian Immigration system to hurry up?

I WANT TO GO HOME! SOMEBODY, MAKE IT HAPPEN!!!!

Doesn’t anyone care? Doesn’t anyone have a heart?

Ok, I’m finished now. I’ve have my say…

…for now.

2 responses to “I Want to Go Home!

    • No response as yet. We will be going for our interview to Amman next week, but not at a set time. They merely sent an email asking us to inform them when we would be going. We answered, informing them that we were available to come on a particular date, but did not receive a return email giving an appointment. We will likely be sitting, ignored for a good long time before – if – they deign to see us. The whole immigration system is remarkably impersonal – read ‘heartless’. I love my country passionately, however this system treats us all just like numbers. You’d think, since my relationship with my husband has lasted nearly 3 years during which time we have cohabited – as we have proved to them over and over – that they should be convinced of our sincerity.

Leave a Reply

